Welcome to the anniversary issue of the International Meeting on Organic Geochemistry (IMOG). The 25th IMOG, the official biennial conference of the European Association of Organic Geochemists (EAOG), will be held in Interlaken, Switzerland, from September 18 to 23, 2011. This is the largest meeting on Organic Geochemistry and we are expecting more than 500 participants from all over the world presenting more than 80 oral and more than 400 poster presentations.

The guiding principle of the IMOG meetings is to encourage presentation, communication and discussion of research results carried out in academia and industry in the fields of Organic Geochemistry with topics ranging from Petroleum Geochemistry to Biogeochemistry. We are putting together a scientific programme that will fulfill this goal with an outstanding collection of oral and poster presentations and workshops to cover the diverse aspects of organic geochemistry research, its application and its integration into studies highly relevant for Scientists from all over the world.

The conference will be held in the Casino Kursaal located in the heart of Interlaken. This venue dates from the 19th century and provides a unique combination of history, modern congress rooms and elegant banquet halls. It will therefore not only be the home of our scientific programme but will also host the conference dinner and the icebreaker party.

In addition to the scientific programme, IMOG 2011 offers opportunities to go on fieldtrips and experience the geology of the breathtaking Swiss Alps. We are planning to organize several events to allow you and your partner to make the most of your time in Switzerland with the option of starting before the actual conference even begins! Trips to key geological features of the Swiss Alps or touristic spots such as the Jungfrau Joch, the Eiger North face, the Schilthorn mountain and Bern are only a few options you can select from.

We look forward to welcoming you in Interlaken.

Organising Committee
Dr. Volker Dieckmann, Shell Rijswijk (Conference Chairman)
Dr. Erik Tegelaar, Shell Rijswijk (Scientific Committee Chairman)
Dr. Pim van Bergen, Shell Aberdeen
Rob Brazier, RapierGroup
Prof. Stefano Bernasconi, ETH Zurich
Dr. Michael Schmidt, UZH
Dr. Carsten Schubert, EAWAG